• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Does Science Piss Off God? Pat Robertson comments on Dover verdict

#61 User is offline   blackshoe 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2007-November-19, 12:44

Disclaimer: I'm an engineer, not a philosopher.

The Roman Catholic Church used to preach that the Earth is the center of the Universe - because, iirc, it was the place God created for his Children to live.

Then Galileo came along and said that his scientific observations suggested a different theory - that the Sun was at the center, and the earth moved around it.

The Church told him he was wrong, and furthermore if he didn't admit he was wrong, he would be excommunicated - not a pleasant fate, in Galileo's day. So he recanted in front of a curia (a Church court). Rumor has it that as he was leaving, he whispered under his breath "it still moves". :(

Later on, Newton suggested that Galileo's theory was wrong in some details, and proposed a new theory. Later still, because some observers had seen things that seemed to contradict Newton's theory, Einstein proposed a newer theory. So far, Einstein's theory hasn't, afaik, run into any major stumbling blocks, so it's still current. That's how science works. When somebody comes along with a better theory, Einstein's will be replaced.

Darwin's scientific observations led him to postulate his theory of evolution. That theory provides a better description of the observed phenomena, on the whole, than does creationism or intelligent design. Yes, there are holes. So what? Faith based "science" doesn't do a better job of explaining the overall observations than does evolution, it does a worse job. When some scientist comes up with a theory that explains the holes in evolution, and provides at least as good an explanation of the things evolution explains well, that new theory will supplant Darwin's. As it should.