• You cannot reply to this topic

Introductions and the Like

#21 User is offline   inquiry 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Interests:Bridge, what else?

Posted 2003-May-08, 18:44

Hi

I just joined BBO, and thought that I would introduce myself and ask a silly question to which I don't really know the answer.  I have been playing bridge on and off for the better part of thirty years, mostly off.  About 5 years ago I started playing regularly one night a week.  Since I work, that is all that I can play.  I am a LM almost a bronze LM.   I play SA mostly and a little 2/1.  

Now for my question, when asked are you an intermediate, advanced, or expert player, I don't have a clue on how to answer.  Are there any criteria for such ratings?  

Welcome poquito. The BBO game site help screens suggest:

Intermediate = Someone who is comparable in skill to most other members of Bridge Base Online

Advanced =  Someone who has been consistently successful in clubs or minor tournaments

Expert =  Someone who as enjoyed success in major national tournaments

See if you can place yourself using this scale.

ben
--Ben--

#22 User is offline   LukeG 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2003-May-08, 19:31

Hi all,

My name is Luke Gillespie.  I'm 54 and live in the Boston, MA area.  When I was young my grandmother and aunt lived with us.  They were enthusiastic card players (all sorts of games) and they got me going.  I was around 10 or 11 when I started playing bridge.

When I was in my 20's I hung out at the old Boston Chess Club and played in ACBL tourneys, enjoying some modest success.  At that point I played a Roth-Stone style and became quite comfortable with it.

By the time I reached my 30's I had lost two regular partners to California and had started a family.  For the next couple of decades I concentrated on family and community, and played less and less bridge.