BBO Discussion Forums: Inverting the meaning of pass and dbl - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Inverting the meaning of pass and dbl

#1 User is offline   mrdct 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2012-September-12, 20:08

I can't remember which pair it was (I think they were French) but I saw on vugraph from Lille an interesting treatment of inverting the meaning of pass and double after low level intervention within what is increasing becoming a standard expert treatment of playing transfers after one-level intervention.

I started playing this method with my regular partner, applying it only where the opponents double or overcall at or below the level of 1, e.g:

1:(dbl): pass=4+, 1=4+, 1=4+, 1=8-10bal or 11+ no clear bid, 1NT=good raise, 2=bad raise.

This leaves double as waiting bid of sorts which is either a hand too weak to show its suit (<6hcp or so) or a hand that would traditionally have made a trap-pass.

We've been playing it for a few weeks now and it all seems to work OK within our general structure. We pre-alert it along the lines of, "after intervention below the level of 1, including double, we use pass to show the next suit up and double as a waiting bid, generally a hand that traditionally would've passed".

I'm interested in people's thoughts on the merits or otherwise of this treatment.
Disclaimer: The above post may be a half-baked sarcastic rant intended to stimulate discussion and it does not necessarily coincide with my own views on this topic.
I bidding the suit below the suit I'm actually showing not to be described as a "transfer" for the benefit of people unfamiliar with the concept of a transfer

#2 User is offline   Zelandakh 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-September-13, 01:58