• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Mountain Biking

Posted 2012-May-17, 09:06

Here's a play problem from Saturday:

The opening lead is the 5 (4th).

Plan the play.
Hi y'all!

Winner - BBO Challenge bracket #6 - February, 2017.

#2 User is offline   dkham 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2012-May-17, 09:29

I'm not an expert - but at the table I'd play the spade Jack, and if it wins finesse clubs. If it loses doesn't look good.

#3 User is offline   ahydra 

• AQT92 AQ --- QJ6532
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-May-17, 09:49

View Postdkham, on 2012-May-17, 09:29, said:

I'm not an expert - but at the table I'd play the spade Jack, and if it wins finesse clubs. If it loses doesn't look good.

I'd try this as well, though I wonder if things aren't quite as bad as they look due to the presence of the diamond 9 in dummy. Also if you finesse clubs and West wins, he can't play a diamond without setting up your Q.

Suppose the SQ loses and a diamond comes through, then you're losing only two diamonds and can still hope for clubs 3-3.

ahydra

#4 User is offline   Flem72 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2012-May-17, 12:23

View PostPhil, on 2012-May-17, 09:06, said:

Here's a play problem from Saturday:

The opening lead is the 5 (4th).

Plan the play.

What are RHO's S cards? if 2, then 62, T2, 92, Q2. If 1, then 6, 9, T or Q. Play low, guaranteeing 3 S tricks, and win with A EDIT: or 7, obv. Now low to JS and start C whenever you take JS. Have to hope the 8D & KD are well-placed, but RHO will start to feel some pain on later S plays, and after your C finesse, will not be happy about discarding C. Maybe a H will drop later; maybe LHO leads a D; but pesky 8 & 9 in C....

#5 User is offline   gszes 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-May-17, 12:32

trick one play a small spade we really need to
have 3 spade tricks to have a decent chance of
making 3n and we cannot afford to have our J