• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Debate in T-Walsh

#21 User is offline   han 

• Under bidder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2012-February-01, 14:54

I thought that weak notrump was better. In the Netherlands most play that completing shows 3, and I started playing this with my regular partner because he prefered it that way. Now I don't know what's better, I'm quite happy with this style. We play completion as almost forcing, and all other bids virtually deny 3-card support. This has some nice consequences, for example, it makes reverse auctions simpler.

After the completion we play that 2C is an invitational relay, after which we show strength and shape. I'm happy with that as well.

So while I still appreciate the reasons for playing that completion shows a weak notrump, my experiences are such that I am no longer convinced that that is better.
Please note: I am interested in boring, bog standard, 2/1.

- hrothgar

#22 User is offline   gnasher 

• Andy Bowles

Posted 2012-February-01, 16:46

I play that completing shows three and 1NT shows a weak notrump. My experience of the benefits has been similar to Han's.

We "solve" the problem of how to deal with 18-19 balanced by opening it 2.
... that would still not be conclusive proof, before someone wants to explain that to me as well as if I was a 5 year-old. - gwnn

#23 User is offline   MickyB 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-February-01, 18:27

In the context of opening all balanced hands 1, I'm fairly sure completing should show any weak NT, just on frequency grounds. If you open 1 on balanced hands with 4 then alternative methods may be better.

#24 User is offline   Zelandakh 

Posted 2012-February-02, 04:23

I have been thinking about a completely different set of responses to Transfer Walsh that I think may have certain advantages. The key to this idea is to use completion of the transfer to deny a fit:-

eg
1 - 1 (hearts)