• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Discard systems

#1 User is offline   SimonFa 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:Bridge, golf, sailing (yachts and dinghies),

Posted 2011-October-02, 03:33

I haven't seen much on discard systems and was wondering about the various pro's and cons.

Lots of people at my club play DODDS and I have to occasionally use it when I play with them. I don't like it that much, too much to think about when under pressure and tired at the end of the evening. I suspect that much of that is lack of practice but does appear to over complicate what should be a simple message. I also find it difficult to send a "no preference" signal.

Another partner, a beginner who attends regular lessons, was taught revolving Lavinthal and sticks to it religiously. I can see it has lots of flexibility and don't mind playing it although again it requires a bit more care at the end of the evening.

When I started playing last year my then partner preferred a simple attitude signal, upside down, and I've been using that with one partner since. I like its simplicity and we can usually find a small card in the suit we would like leading. I accept it does have problems, if we don't have a small card signalling discouragement of another suit might not imply the suit we want.

It also has an advantage over the other systems in that you can send a "definitely not this suit" signal by playing a high card. It is a rare case but I have used it to good effect.

I also find that a simple attitude signal works well on BBO as most pick-up partners seem to understand "low encourages" in my profile.