BBO Discussion Forums: Why? - BBO Discussion Forums

• 10 Pages +
  • « First
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Why? The war is over - you lost - get over it.

#141 User is offline   kenberg 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2011-February-11, 10:46

What I get out of the discussion of Luther and his nutty views is an old lesson that more than a few of my religious friends would agree with, namely that you don't want religious zealots in charge of policy. I voted for John Kennedy, the fact that he was Catholic was of no interest to me. Joe Lieberman is Jewish, I suppose I would have realized that if I thought about the name but I hadn't thought about it at all until it was mentioned and then it was of no interest. Back when Goldwater was a political force I understood that he was Jewish or partly Jewish. I never checked, I'm not good at figuring these things out, and I don't care. One of the things that I like about Obama is that I actually have no real idea at all about his religious views. Dumping the Reverend What's his name was a good move, long overdue really.

Religion is not irrelevant, it can play a major role in developing values. But the issue, for me, is what values the person has come to rather than how he arrived there. My mistakes in life, and I have made many, were not the result of insufficient religious training. Stupidity played a major role.
Ken

#142 User is offline   PassedOut 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Music, films, computer programming, politics, bridge

Posted 2011-February-11, 12:09

View Postphil_20686, on 2011-February-11, 08:40, said:

In any case, positing Gods existence as the "best of possible explanations" is not positing a wild card in the sense of ignoring a perfectly good natural explanation.