BBO Discussion Forums: Double trouble - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Double trouble

#1 User is offline   jillybean 

  • hooked
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 8,311
  • Joined: 2003-November-15
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Currently in New Zealand
  • Interests:Bridge, boogie boarding, hiking

Posted 2021-April-19, 21:29

North opened in 1st seat;

North: 1NT (12-14)

East: X

South: Pass

West: XX. (Director!)

How do you rule and proceed from here?
Searching for your own mistakes is the only way to learn this game. - Fluffy

And no matter what methods you play, it is essential, for anyone aspiring to learn to be a good player, to learn the importance of bidding shape properly. - MikeH

SLOW DOWN! This is not a speedball :)
0

#2 User is offline   paulg 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,817
  • Joined: 2003-April-26
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scottish Borders

Posted 2021-April-20, 01:09

Law 36 is a good start (http://www.worldbrid...r_neutral_1.pdf).

Assuming West's redouble is intended, then it is cancelled and replaced by any legal call. The auction continues and East must pass at each turn.

Law 72C may apply. The lead restrictions in Law 26B may apply.

Updated to reflect pran's correction.

This post has been edited by paulg: 2021-April-20, 05:04

The Beer Card

I don't work for BBO and any advice is based on my BBO experience over the decades
0

#3 User is offline   pran 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 5,304
  • Joined: 2009-September-14
  • Location:Ski, Norway

Posted 2021-April-20, 01:23

View Postpaulg, on 2021-April-20, 01:09, said:

Law 36 is a good start (http://www.worldbrid...r_neutral_1.pdf).

Assuming West's redouble is intended, then it is cancelled and replaced by any legal call. The auction continues and East may must pass at each turn.

Law 72C may apply. The lead restrictions in Law 26B may apply.

0

#4 User is offline   jillybean 

  • hooked
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 8,311
  • Joined: 2003-November-15
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Currently in New Zealand
  • Interests:Bridge, boogie boarding, hiking

Posted 2021-April-20, 05:18

Is PASS a legal call?
Searching for your own mistakes is the only way to learn this game. - Fluffy

And no matter what methods you play, it is essential, for anyone aspiring to learn to be a good player, to learn the importance of bidding shape properly. - MikeH

SLOW DOWN! This is not a speedball :)
0

#5 User is offline   mycroft 

  • Secretary Bird
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 6,058
  • Joined: 2003-July-12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Calgary, Canada

Posted 2021-April-20, 08:08

of course. Any legal call means any call that isn't illegal. So here, 1 isn't, nor is double.

While you read L72C, also read L10C4 (which, of course, references 72C). Yet again, "They made a mistake, we get a good score" isn't in the law book.

Oh, and should they defend, not only does Law 26 apply, but Law 16 does as well. Probably doesn't matter if they do end up playing 1NTx, but if the XX was replaced with 2, and they end up defending 2; if the defenders also play weak NT with some artificial two-suited XX runout, then looking for "the other shown" suit in partner's hand without the count should be checked for use of UI.
When I go to sea, don't fear for me, Fear For The Storm -- Birdie and the Swansong (tSCoSI)
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users